Abu DhabiSouth Africa took their chances of reaching the semi-finals of the ICC T20 World Cup to a whole new level with a six-wicket win with 39 balls to spare after bowling out Bangladesh cheaply with lethal bowling from Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Norkia. .

Bangladesh were bowled out for 84 runs in 18.2 overs after being invited to bat first. South Africa scored 86 for four in 13.3 overs to take their net run rate to 0.742.

This is South Africa’s third win in four matches, taking them to six points. He remains in second place after England. Bangladesh suffered its fourth consecutive defeat.

Rabada (3 for 20) shook Bangladesh’s top order while Norkia (3 for 8) ended the innings with two consecutive wickets. Left-arm wrist spinner Tabrez Shamsi (2 for 21) again proved to be useful in the middle overs while Dwayne Pretorius (1 for 11) also found a breakthrough.

Captain Temba Bavuma batted well in the second match in a row. He scored 31 not out off 28 balls with the help of three fours and a six. Bavuma shared a 47-run partnership for the fourth wicket with Rossi van der Dussen (22 off 27 balls).

South Africa also did not have a good start and lost the top three batsmen in the powerplay itself. Taskin Ahmed (2 for 18) dismissed Reeza Hendricks (four) leg before in the first over itself. Second opener Quinton de Kock (16 off 15 balls) welcomed Mahedi Hasan (1 for 19) with two fours but the off-spinner was able to bowl him immediately.

The third batsman to be dismissed in the powerplay was Aiden Markram, who was caught at slip by Taskin. Markram could not even open the account. After six overs the score was 33 for three. Bavuma again played a settled innings. South Africa reached 50 runs after his six in the ninth over off Nasum Ahmed (1 for 22 runs).

South Africa were looking to improve the net run rate. In such a situation, Bavuma and Dussen tried to get the ball to the boundary line. Shoriful did not allow his intentions to fully materialize by taking a fine catch of Dusen. David Miller (five not out) hit the winning boundary.

Earlier, only three Bangladesh batsmen reached double digits with all-rounder Mahedi Hasan top-scoring with 27 while opener Liton Das made a struggling 24 off 36 balls. Bangladesh’s innings hit only four fours and a six. This is the third time this year that Bangladesh have failed to reach triple digits.

After winning the toss, South Africa elected to field first and then Bangladesh’s top order shook. Rabada got Mohammad Naeem (nine) caught by Hendrix at midwicket on the fifth ball of the fourth over of the innings. The next ball was the inswinger, on which the LBW appeal against Soumya Sarkar was turned down but the decision from the DRS went in Rabada’s favour.

Rabada failed to complete a hat-trick in the next over but managed to dismiss the experienced Mushfiqur Rahim (nil) to take the score to 24 for three.

South Africa’s bowlers continued to wreak havoc even after this. Norkia bowled captain Mahmudullah (3) off a quick ball while Pretorius dismissed Afif Hossain to send half the Bangladesh team to the pavilion for 34 runs. Bangladesh were able to score 40 runs in 10 overs which is the minimum score in the first 10 overs in Super 12.

Now it was the turn of Shamsi, who played a key role in the victory over Sri Lanka in the previous match, who ended the struggle of this opener by dismissing Liton Das leg before on a beautiful ball taking flight and then forced Shamim Hussain (11) to give an easy catch. .

Hassan’s efforts helped Bangladesh cross their minimum score (70). This all-rounder also hit the only six of the innings on Shamsi. Norkia took the wicket of Nasum Ahmed after catching Hasan off his own ball, who was hit wicket.(Language)

Akash Gokhe

By Akash Gokhe

Akash is the Founder and Writer of the Sports Platform website. He conceived the idea of starting a Sports Platform website to channelize his love, passion, and emotions for the game of cricket and to connect other like-minded people on the platform.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *