India skipper Virat Kohli on Monday almost confirmed Rohit Sharma to be his successor to the T20I captaincy, saying the senior opener has been “watching things out for a while”. In the limited-overs format, Kohli’s successor Rohit is likely to lead the side in the three-match home series against New Zealand starting November 19.

Kohli, who last took the field as Indian captain in the T20 format against Namibia in the Super 12 stage of the ICC World Cup, said after the toss, “I am very proud of the way the team has played. Now I think it’s time to give the responsibility to others to take this team forward. Obviously Rohit is here and he has been looking into things for some time.

Kohli said that it is an honor for him to lead the country’s team. “It is an honor for me (to lead the team), I was given the opportunity and I tried to do my best. But it’s about making room for others and moving forward.”

Apart from Kohli’s last T20 International as captain, this is the last match between Ravi Shastri and other members of the coaching team.

Kohli had announced to step down as the captain of the T20 format before the start of this World Cup. He has also quit the captaincy of the IPL team Royal Challengers Bangalore. Speculations are rife that this superstar batsman may also quit leading the ODI team in the near future.

If it is assumed in advance that Team India will win in today’s match against Namibia, then in overall T20 International, he has played 51 T20 matches as a captain, out of which 30 wins, 16 loses, two Draws and two have been inconclusive.

He is the top Indian captain in terms of scoring T20 runs as a captain. With 1570 runs, he is India’s first and the world’s fourth highest run-scorer in T20I. He also has the feat of scoring the fastest 1000 T20 runs as a captain, which he has achieved in just 30 innings.

Although Rohit’s name was fixed for T20 captaincy, but according to the market of rumors, apart from Rohit, Rahul’s name was also in the mind of the selectors. But after this statement of Kohli, Rohit’s name is sure to be stamped. Tomorrow, when the selectors announce the squad for the T20I series against New Zealand, Rohit Sharma will be declared the captain.

Both the batsmen are also the captains of their respective franchises in the IPL. Rohit Sharma is the captain of Mumbai Indians while KL Rahul has captained Punjab Kings. Although Rohit Sharma has made Mumbai Indians champion in IPL 5 times. Due to this, Rohit’s edge was already heavy on Rahul. Apart from this, Rohit Sharma has captained in 10 T20 International matches and in only 2 of them, Team India has to face defeat.

It is noteworthy that on November 17, the T20 series between India and New Zealand will start in Jaipur. The second T20 will be played in Ranchi on 19 November and the third in Kolkata on 21 November. This will be followed by two Test matches, which will be part of the current cycle of the World Test Championship (WTC). The first Test will be played in Kanpur from November 25 to 29 and the second in Mumbai from December 3 to 7.

Akash Gokhe

By Akash Gokhe

Akash is the Founder and Writer of the Sports Platform website. He conceived the idea of starting a Sports Platform website to channelize his love, passion, and emotions for the game of cricket and to connect other like-minded people on the platform.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *