New Zealand won the toss and decided to bowl first against England in the first semi-final of the T20 World Cup at the Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

There is a change in the England team. Sam Billings has been included in the team in place of explosive opener Jason Roy, who has been out with a calf injury. However, Billings hardly opens and comes to Malan or Beresto to open with Butler. The New Zealand team has not made any changes.

Both England and New Zealand are in good form and both have reached the semi-finals after winning four league matches each. While England has defeated good teams such as Australia, West Indies, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, New Zealand has come out after defeating teams like Afghanistan, Scotland and Namibia, including India, which are considered one of the main contenders for the World Cup. England and New Zealand, however, had lost to South Africa and Pakistan respectively. Although South Africa are out of the tournament, but Pakistan’s team has reached the semi-finals and they are looking very strong.

The batting and bowling of both the teams are looking very good. For England, Jason Roy, Jos Buttler, Jonny Bairstow and Liam Livingstone are in excellent form with the bat, while Chris Woakes, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid, Moeen Ali and Mark Wood are bowling well. Jason Roy has been ruled out of the T20 World Cup due to a calf injury. He was replaced by James Vince, who along with Liam Dawson was already with the team as a reserve player and was also accepted by the International Cricket Council (ICC) technical team.

On the other hand, experienced opener Martin Guptill has taken the lead in batting in New Zealand’s team. Darryl Mitchell is also supporting him well. Captain Kane Williamson is doing well in the middle order with Devon Conway and Glenn Phillips. In the bowling, experienced and senior bowlers Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi and Trent Boult are bowling lethally.

Talking about the record, both the teams have come face to face 21 times in T20 International cricket so far and England has been dominating. England has defeated New Zealand 13 times, while New Zealand have won seven matches and one match has been inconclusive. The last T20I series between the two teams was in November 2019, which England won 3-2. Talking about the T20 World Cup, England has the upper hand in this too. England has won three matches in the World Cup, while New Zealand has won two matches. In the semi-final of the 2016 T20 World Cup, England defeated New Zealand by seven wickets.

New Zealand : Ken Williamson (captain), Daryl Mitchell, Martin Guptill, Devon Conway (wicketkeeper), Glenn Phillips, Jimmy Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Adam Milne, Trent Bolt.

England : Eoin Morgan (c), Jos Buttler (wk), Jonny Bairstow, David Malan, Moeen Ali, Sam Billings, Liam Livingstone, Chris Woakes, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood.

Akash Gokhe

By Akash Gokhe

Akash is the Founder and Writer of the Sports Platform website. He conceived the idea of starting a Sports Platform website to channelize his love, passion, and emotions for the game of cricket and to connect other like-minded people on the platform.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *