Dubai:It has become a custom in this World Cup that the team that wins the toss in the evening match, bowls first and then chases down and wins the match. The final match will be held in Dubai, where 10 out of 12 matches have been won by the team that wins the toss. Apart from this, 21 matches out of 27 Day Night T20 matches in Abu Dhabi and Dubai have been won by the team that chased the target.

Bowled after winning the toss in the semi-finals

The captain who won the toss in the semi-finals bowled first. In the first semi-final of the T20 World Cup at the Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi, New Zealand won the toss and decided to bowl first against England. Australia had won the toss and elected to bowl first in the second semi-final of the T20 World Cup against Pakistan. Interestingly, both the teams won the match by 5 wickets.

Dew is a big factor in this as dew makes bowling in the second innings, especially spin bowling, a little harder and batting easier. After watching the knockout matches, it was felt that it is difficult to save even 12 runs/over in the last overs here. During the second innings under floodlights, the fast bowlers have taken only eight wickets in nine matches here, conceding runs per over at an economy of 10.

From the very beginning of the Super 12 matches in the World Cup, it became a trend that the chasing team is winning. During this, 18 out of 23 matches were won like this, while in Dubai this record was nine out of nine matches. However, this is not the first time this has happened. In the 2014 and 2016 T20 World Cups, most of the night matches were won by the same teams chasing the target. Similarly, the teams winning the toss were also getting the same benefit this time.

After both the semifinal matches it is clear that if you want to win big matches you have to score big. Since 2014, seven of the eight knockout matches of the T20 World Cup have been won by chasing teams.

Australia has won the toss five times in this tournament so far, although they lost the match against England. On the other hand, New Zealand have won the toss only twice in this tournament in two important matches against India and England. In the last six World Cup finals, the team that has won the toss five times has won the title.

This was seen in the first World Cup as well.

If we talk about the previous champions, West Indies won the toss in all the six matches in the 2016 World Cup and won the title. In all these six matches, he won the toss and decided to bowl first. Similarly, in the 2012 title win, he had won the toss in six out of seven matches. In 2007, India won the toss in five matches, including two crucial knock-outs. In 2014, Sri Lanka won all the four matches in their title win, in which they won the toss.

Akash Gokhe

By Akash Gokhe

Akash is the Founder and Writer of the Sports Platform website. He conceived the idea of starting a Sports Platform website to channelize his love, passion, and emotions for the game of cricket and to connect other like-minded people on the platform.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *