DubaiWhen the T20 World Cup first started in the year 2007, Australia was its biggest contender to win the ODI World Cup. But India defeated him in the semi-finals. In 2009, the team was eliminated after the first round.

In the year 2010, the team reached the final but could not lift the cup. Today Australia ended their 14-year-old wait and defeated New Zealand by 8 wickets. Glenn Maxwell sealed the victory with a four.

The T20 World Cup was the only trophy that Australia had never won. Australia has won the ODI World Cup 5 times and the Champions Trophy 2 times.

Mitchell Marsh’s 77 not out off 50 balls and David Warner’s half-century helped five-time world champions Australia beat New Zealand by eight wickets on Sunday to win the T20 World Cup for the first time.

The New Zealand team, sent to bat first, scored 172 for four with the help of captain Kane Williamson’s 85 off 48 balls. In reply, the ‘players of the big matches’ Warner (53 runs in 38 balls) and Marsh gave the team victory for the loss of just two wickets with seven balls to spare.

New Zealand, which had unfortunately lost the final to England in the 50-over World Cup two years ago, once again had to be content with finishing runners-up in the ICC tournament. Marsh and Warner’s innings overshadowed Williamson’s batting.

Marsh hit six fours and four sixes in his innings, out of which Ish Sodhi hit two sixes. He responded to the criticism surrounding his selection in the T20 World Cup squad by playing the most memorable innings of his career so far.

At the same time, the notion of T20 cricket as a game of masters of the fast format was also shattered by Australia, which included five Test specialists, fast bowlers Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood and batsmen Warner and Steve Smith in the team.

Warner, who was humiliated by an IPL team on this ground, played an important role in this victory. Warner’s captaincy was snatched in the IPL and he was not even given a place in the team in the last matches. He silenced the critics by playing memorable innings on the biggest stage in the T20 format itself.

At the same time, the New Zealand team, sent to bat first, was seen struggling to score runs in the first ten overs. Martin Guptill scored 28 runs in 35 balls. After this Williamson changed the map of the innings by scoring 85 runs in 48 balls with the help of 10 fours and three sixes. New Zealand scored 115 runs in the last ten overs to make the final match exciting.

Williamson, who often proved to be the troubleshooter of his team, batted beautifully, scoring 15 runs in the first 16 balls. At that time Adam Zampa was bowling economical and Guptill was not in form. Once the momentum took hold, Williamson played freely and scored 70 runs in the next 32 balls.

Williamson became the captain to become the highest scorer in the T20 World Cup final, beating Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara. He eased the pressure by scoring 19 runs off Mitchell Starc in the 11th over. Josh Hazlewood also dropped his catch in the same over. Starc proved to be very expensive today, conceding 60 runs in four overs.

While Starc’s second over was poor, the third over was even worse in which New Zealand’s batsmen took 24 runs with four fours and a six. Hazlewood, on the other hand, took three for 16 in four overs while Zampa took one for 24 in his four overs.

New Zealand’s innings went to captain Williamson who proved why he is considered one of the great batsmen of modern cricket. Playing with restraint in every format with technical prowess is his specialty and most importantly he is always in form when needed.

Akash Gokhe

By Akash Gokhe

Akash is the Founder and Writer of the Sports Platform website. He conceived the idea of starting a Sports Platform website to channelize his love, passion, and emotions for the game of cricket and to connect other like-minded people on the platform.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *