How bad the T20 World Cup has gone for India, it is known from the fact that no player from India is in the team of the T20 World Cup tournament that ended on Sunday. At the same time, Babar Azam, the captain of Pakistan and the highest scorer of 303 runs in the tournament, has been appointed as the captain of this team.

No Indian cricketer is included in the ‘tournament squad’ of the ICC T20 World Cup, while players from Sri Lanka and South Africa have found a place in the 12-man squad led by Pakistan’s Babar Azam.

The Indian team could not progress beyond the group stage of the tournament. He had to face defeat from Pakistan and New Zealand. After this he defeated Afghanistan, Scotland and Namibia. But in the last 3 matches, KL Rahul scored 3 consecutive half-centuries, that performance has also been sidelined. KL Rahul scored 194 runs in 5 matches at an average of 48.

Apart from this, no bowler of the Indian team is also included in the team of the tournament. Jasprit Bumrah and Ravindra Jadeja were the two highest wicket-takers from India, they were also not included in the team.

The jury members did not find any Indian player worthy of a place in this team, while South Africa’s Aiden Markram and Anrich Norkia and Sri Lanka’s Charit Aslanka and Wanindu Hasaranga have been selected in it. Both these teams also failed to make it to the semi-finals.

Champion Australia, runners-up New Zealand, semi-finalists England and Pakistan have been selected in the squad. Opener and player of the tournament David Warner, leg-spinner Adam Zampa and fast bowler Josh Hazlewood has been roped in.

England’s Jos Buttler is included in the team as wicketkeeper and Moeen Ali as all-rounder, while Trent Boult from New Zealand has made it in. Babar of Pakistan has been named the captain of the team while Hasranga, who took the highest wicket in the tournament, has also been named in the team.

A member of the jury, former West Indies fast bowler Ian Bishop, said, “Like every team selection, this team will also be discussed. The panel respects such discussion. It was extremely difficult to select a team from such a competitive tournament. The main basis of selection was the matches from Super 12 to the final. ,

The team is as follows: David Warner (Australia), Jos Buttler (WK), Babar Azam (Captain, Pakistan), Charit Aslanka (Sri Lanka), Aiden Markram (South Africa), Moeen Ali (England), Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka), Adam Zampa ( Australia), Josh Hazlewood (Australia), Trent Boult (New Zealand), Enrich Norkea (South Africa). 12th player – Shaheen Afridi (Pakistan).

Akash Gokhe

By Akash Gokhe

Akash is the Founder and Writer of the Sports Platform website. He conceived the idea of starting a Sports Platform website to channelize his love, passion, and emotions for the game of cricket and to connect other like-minded people on the platform.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *